Interviewing with Reach to Teach

People usually get excited about receiving an interview for a job, but this is where recruiters like Reach to Teach snag the applicant. You think you are being interviewed, but they are actually beginning the long con. Looking back, my conversations with both John and Carrie Kellenberger at Reach to Teach contained many red flags. Their interview is a sales pitch primarily. They wanted to convince me they have the best jobs, the only jobs, worth taking. But during the interview, every concern is met with an answer. Every pitfall is covered. Nothing bad will happen, but if it does, they will handle it. Lies, lies, and more lies.

Conducting an interview with applicants makes Reach to Teach Recruiting seem legitimate. Don’t be excited when you are offered to schedule an interview- be wary. The best way I can illustrate the difference is to compare them with a recruiter I later used and trust*:

  • Reach to Teach minimized my concerns and told me not to worry about anything. A real recruiter discussed my concerns, told me stories about real things they had seen happen to their teachers, and how they handled it with concrete examples. No fluff.
  • Reach to Teach told me they had never had any complaints (lie). A real recruiter talked about complaints they had seen and what they had done about it. They told me under what circumstances they had stopped working with a school. They also told me about their criteria for screening and working with schools.
  • Reach to Teach told me they would handle things for me if I had any problems (lie). The real recruiter told me they would help where they could but they were honest that their power over many things in a foreign country was limited. Honest.
  • Reach to Teach told me I could talk to a teacher at the school, but never set this up even though I asked twice. A real recruiting company actually set this up for me.

Not all recruiters are bad, but you have to approach this as if you are screening them, not as if they are screening you. Ask them questions about how they do things in a friendly way and if they clam up, hang up. My real recruiter was very open about how they did things, what they said fit with what I wanted, and I’ve been very happy in my current job.

* I will not name the other recruiter I used here because I don’t want them mixed up with a blog that’s purpose is to describe how I was scammed.

